Home » List of big names who lost UDA nominations

List of big names who lost UDA nominations

by Amos Khaemba
With the results of the just-concluded United Democratic Alliance (UDA) party nominations trickling in a number of big politicians lose out.

With the results of the just-concluded United Democratic Alliance (UDA) party nominations trickling in a number of aspirants continue to point out some forms of rigging even as big politicians lose out.

The exercise was held on Thursday, April 14, in 36 counties began in what some said was a chaotic manner as some aspirants claimed electoral malpractices.

Claims of pre-marked ballot papers, ugly confrontations, and rigging allegations marred Deputy President William Ruto’s United Democratic Alliance nominations.

Even as some aspirants continue to raise complaints about the results, Kivumbi.co.ke looks at the big names who have lost the primaries.

  1. Caleb Kositany

The Soy MP is one of the close allies of the Deputy President William Ruto in the Rift Valley region and he was seeking the UDA ticket to contest for the Uasin Gishu gubernatorial seat in the August polls.

By the time Kivumbi.co.ke was publishing this article Kositany was trailing his main opponent, Jonathan Bii.

Other aspirants in the race include Julius Bitok, former Nairobi CEC Vesca Kangogo, Ngenyilel MCA David Singoei, and businessman Solomon Kiptarbei.

      2. Isaac Mwaura

The outspoken nominated senator who sought to represent the Ruiru constituents in the National Assembly has lost the UDA nominations to Simon King’ara.

Speaking on the results of the outcome, Mwaura called for its nullification saying the exercise was not free and fair.

“King’ara hired goons to disrupt the exercise…We are not going to allow this exercise to continue, we want it recalled. I want to tell the UDA party; we support it 100% and we are not going to allow its popularity to dwindle. We know there are people sent by Jubilee to ruin the party. We are the ones who have built this party,” Mwaura said.

The loss of Mwaura came as a big shock as he had launched house-to-house campaigns to marshal support for his umpteenth bid for the Ruiru MP seat.

3. Patrick Wainaina Wa Jungle

The Thika Town MP is also among the casualties of the UDA primaries having lost to Senator Kimani Wamatangi for the Kiambu gubernatorial seat.

Others who lost to Wamatangi include former governor Francis Waititu, and Erick Muturi.

4. Cate Waruguru

The outspoken Laikipia Women Representative Cate Waruguru has also lost the ongoing nomination.

The lawmaker was seeking the UDA ticket to contest for the Laikipia East MP seat.

She garnered 5,595 votes against her main rival Mohammed Amin Deddy who got 12,743 while Kimaru Mutahi came third with 2, 701.

5. Charles Keter

The former Energy and Devolution cabinet secretary was eying the Kericho governor’s seat on the UDA party ticket ahs also lost the nomination.

According to reports, the Ex-CS has lost the UDA ticket to Evans Mutai who recently residents organized impromptu fundraising for his campaigns.

6. Wilson Sossion

The Former Kenya National Union of Teachers (KNUT) chairman decamped from the ODM party to contest for the Bomet senatorial seat has become a casualty of the chaotic Bomet nominations.

Earlier on, the outspoken unionist had called for the suspension of the exercise claiming that some ballot papers were premarked for certain aspirants.

7. Jane Kihara

The Naivasha MP Jayne Kihara lost the UDA ticket to her predecessor John Kihagi. Kihagi got 10,394 votes while Kihara got 9,991 votes, a difference of 403 votes. Kihara alleged she’d been rigged out.

8. Deputy Speaker Moses Cheboi

The National Assembly Deputy Speaker Moses Cheboi has lost the UDA nomination for the Kuresoi North to Alfred Mutai, the Sirikwa MCA.

Mutai garnered 17, 247 votes while Cheboi managed 12, 454 votes.

You may also like

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More