Home » ‘Ruto it is’: Ndindi Nyoro claims William Ruto has won the presidential race

‘Ruto it is’: Ndindi Nyoro claims William Ruto has won the presidential race

by Enock Ndayala
ndindi Nyoro believes William Ruto has won presidential race.

Both sides of leading presidential candidates- William Ruto and Raila Odinga- have started claiming victory, barely 24 hours after the closure of voting countrywide.

Results started streaming in and different entities, including media houses, have been doing their own independent tallying besides that from the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC), which is mandated to announce the official winner.

Presidential candidate Raila’s side was the first to claim their internal national tally showed he had won convincingly with votes from his two strongholds- Kakamega and Mandera counties yet to be counted.

minutes later. Kiharu MP-elect, a strong supporter of William Ruto also said their presidential candidate (Ruto) was way past the constitutional threshold of 52% needed to win the presidential election.

“Only 500 (polling) stations remaining now and our votes are almost 52% of all the 14.3 votes cast yesterday. Therefore the 50%+1 threshold is already met.,” he said in a post on his social media accounts.

According to the electoral body, IEBC, more than 99% of all form 34As that bear results of presidential candidates at polling stations have been received at the national tallying center.

Since they are about 46,000. form 34As from polling stations across the country, tallying takes some time hence the delay in knowing exactly which presidential candidate has garnered what.

It is, for this reason, that many are doubting the results announced by the two rival presidential camps since it takes a lot of human resource capital to tally all form 34As in time considering the same started streaming in after 8 pm on August 10.

For either Raila or Ruto to be declared the winner of the presidential election in Kenya, they have to have garnered more than half of all votes cast in the country.

The candidate also has to get at least 25% of votes in more than half of Kenya’s 47 counties.

While any entity or individual is free to tally and display provisional presidential results, only iEBC is mandated to declare the winner of the race.

The 2022 presidential election attracted four candidates; George Wajackoyah of Roots party, David Mwaure of Agano party, William Ruto of UDA, and Raila Odinga of Azimio la Umoja-One Kenya coalition party.

You may also like

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More